

SILVER JUBLIEE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF INDIAN ASSOCIATION FOR SOCIAL PSYCHIATRY



Venue: Scientific Convention Centre, C.S.M. Medical University, U.P., Lucknow 15 – 17 November, 2009

President: Dr. G. Gopalakrishnan **Vice President**: Prof. R.C. Jiloha

President Elect: Prof. R. A. Kallivayalil **Secretary General:** Prof. R.K. Chadda

Treasurer: Dr. Adarsh Kohli Editor: Prof.V.K. Sinha

FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT

Date: 13 May 2009

Dear Friends.

The organizing committee is immensely happy to invite you to the Silver Jubilee National Conference of Indian Association for Social Psychiatry (NCIASP – 2009), marking 25 years of formation of IASP, to be held in Lucknow from 15-17 November, 2009. It is a matter of great pride for this conference to have received co-sponsorship of the World Psychiatric Association.

The theme of the conference is "Mental Health: Prioritizing Social Psychiatry". The idea is to familiarize ourselves with, and discuss the latest developments in the rapidly developing and expanding field of social psychiatry. The planned academic programme is expected to be new, rich and varied. It would encompass various aspects of the interface between mental health and social psychiatry. International and National experts in the field of mental health and social psychiatry are expected to be amongst us to share their experience and knowledge. We are sure that discussions and deliberations on various issues would be academically enriching for all of us and would add to our clinical skills.

The scientific programme will include symposia, invited lectures, orations, award papers, free papers and poster presentations. We invite you to submit scientific papers or proposals for symposia for the conference. The members of IASP can also submit entries for the Balint Award, Dr G.C. Boral I and II awards, Dr. V.K. Varma award for best published paper and Dr. B.B. Sethi award for best poster. Nominations are also invited for the Dr. N.N. De Oration and Dr. A. Venkoba Rao Oration award. Last date for submission for papers and symposia and entry for award papers is 31 August 2009. You will be informed of further details shortly.

Lucknow, the capital of Uttar Pradesh, rose to prominence as the centre of the "Nawabs of Awadh". It has witnessed their sheer extravagance, and dramatic events of the first war of independence in 1857. Known for its culture and gracious living, it is a city of many faces, a place where the old world charm blends with the new. The city is sure to entice you with its fascinating history & magnificent buildings. The evenings are being planned to provide you with a comforting ambience to make new friends and catch up with old ones. The weather is pleasantly cool in the month of November and the city is well connected to the rest of the country by air, rail and road. We look forward to your visit and hope your stay here would be an enriching and memorable experience.

Jh?

(J.K. Trivedi)

Viven Aganu cl

(Vivek Agarwal)

(Anil Nischal)

ischol

Patrons

Prof. Saroj Chooramani Gopal, Hon. Vice Chancellor, CSMMU Prof. A.K. Agarwal, Ex-Head of Psychiatry, CSMMU Prof. Narottam Lal, Ex-Head of Psychiatry, CSMMU Prof. Prabhat Sitholey, Ex-Head of Psychiatry, CSMMU

Organizing Committee

Chair person Prof. J.K.Trivedi

Co-Chairpersons Prof. Harjeet Singh Prof. P.K.Dalal

Organizing SecretariesDr. Vivek Agarwal

Dr .Anil Nischal
Treasurer
Mr. P.K.Sinha
Editor
Dr. Shashi Rai

Joint Organizing Secretary
Dr. Adarsh Tripathi

Sub Committees

Secretariat Prof. J.K.Trivedi Dr. Anil Nischal Dr. Adarsh Tripathi Mr. Syed Ahmad Abbas Rizvi Mr. Narain Swaroop Mishra Scientific Committee Chairpersons: J.K.Trivedi, Dr. J.S. Sahai Co-Chairperson:Dr.Maya Bajpai **Reception Committee** Chairperson: Dr.Hemant Naidu Co-Chairperson: Mr.V.S. Yadav **Registration Committee** Chairperson: Dr.Mohit Trivedi Co-Chairperson: Mr. A K Srivastava Souvenir Committee Chairperson: Dr. Shashi Rai Co-Chairperson:Mr.S.B.Rai **Catering Committee** Chairperson: Mr.P.K.Sinha Co-Chairperson: Dr.G.P. Verma Accommodation & Transport Committee Chairperson: Dr.Adarsh Tripathi Co-Chairperson: Mr. S.S. Mishra Stage Management Committee

Stage Management Committee Chairperson: Prof.P.K.Dalal Co-Chairperson: Ms.Suman Jain

Contact Persons

Prof. J.K. Trivedi: 0-9415022580 Mr. P.K. Sinha: 0-9336576796 Dr. Anil Nischal: 0-9935719000 Mr. S.S. Mishra:0-9415066199 Mr. V. S. Yadav: 0-9454191445 Conference Secretariat Email nciasp2009@gmail.com